Senator Akpabio, Jibrin, and Others Inducted Into ECOWAS Parliament


Senate President Godswill Obot Akpabio and his deputy, Barau Jibrin, among others, have been inaugurated as members of the sixth legislature of the ECOWAS parliament.

President Bola Tinubu, Senate President Godswill Akpabio, Deputy Senate President Senator Barau Jibril, representatives of other ECOWAS member states, diplomats, and high-ranking government officials attended the inauguration, which was held on Thursday at the International Conferences Centre in Abuja.

The lawmakers were sworn into the sixth Legislature of the ECOWAS parliament by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu who also presides as the Chairman of the ECOWAS Authority of Heads of State and Government.

The Nigerian Senate president and other newly elected representatives for the sixth legislature of the ECOWAS Parliament took their oath of office during the opening session.

The ECOWAS Parliament is one of the prestigious institutions of the ECOWAS Parliament, established by the ECOWAS Treaty of May 28, 1975, signed in Lagos, Nigeria.

The current treaty was amended in July 1993 and signed in Abidjan. It comprises 115 members collected from the 15-member states, which include Nigeria. Nigeria is currently allocated 35 slots in the parliament, and the tenure for office members is pegged at four years from the date of inauguration.

Leave a Reply

Share post:




More like this

Liberia to Host Nigeria’s Flamingos in FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup Qualifier

Liberia’s Under-17 girls will host Nigeria's Flamingos on Sunday,...

President Tinubu to Meet with National Assembly on Wednesday

President Bola Tinubu will address members of the National...

Pastor Umo Eno Unveils 21.5-Kilometer Expansion of Oron-Airport Road

Akwa Ibom State Governor, Pastor Umo Eno, has inaugurated...

Official Market Reports Naira Strengthening to 1,339.33/$

The naira appreciated to 1,339.33/$ at the close of...