Eight Former PDP Council Chairmen in Edo Defects to APC


Eight Ex-Local Government Chairmen of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) in Edo State has defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC), ahead of the September 21 governorship election.

They promised to support APC and its governorship candidate, Senator Monday Okpebholo, to emerge victorious.

The former Local Government Chairmen of PDP who defected included John Osi Akhigbe, Dr. Josie Ogedegbe Igueben, Frank Ilaboya, Andrew Osigwe, Napoleon Agbama, Scott Ogbemudia, Austin Okoibhole, and Mrs. Ruth Osahor.

The ex-chairmen were initially in the APC, but defected to the PDP with governor Godwin Obaseki on June 19, 2020, ahead of the September 19, 2020 governorship election.

Receiving the defectors, Oshiomhole said: Oshiomhle said: “On behalf of our state chairman, the APC family, and the governor in-waiting, Senator Monday Okpebholo, and his deputy, Hon. Dennis Idahosa, I am very honoured this morning to receive my men – these are people who God used me to mobilise into ACN and now APC. Some of them have played very critical roles in governance when I was the governor. Some of them were local government council chairmen.

“Like every family, we sometimes have misunderstandings or communication gap or even there’s share temptation and they had cause to leave, but today, they’ve come to inform us they are moving back home.

“The good news is that this house is so large with so many rooms and a big living room that can accommodate everyone as it has accommodated all of us today without much planning -no logistics is involved and no hiring of canopy.

“So, for me, I am excited that these young men have chosen to return back home and we’ve all resolved to receive them as if they never left before and they will enjoy all rights and privileges that members of APC enjoy.

“For those who have the obligation to join us in the current project to ensure that through free and transparent election, this great state, the heartbeat of Nigeria returns under the governance of APC with Okpebholo, who’s a distinguished senator that was transparently elected last year as the next governor of this state and off course Dennis Idahosa, who was elected and re-elected. These are not strangers to ballot boxes; they are products of ballot. And all they need is to spread that influence across the state to re-kick-start the progressive politics of APC that guided my action when I was governor and continue from where I stopped. I am excited and happy about this today.”

Speaking on behalf of the defectors, Frank Ilaboya said: “This is homecoming because I know what you did for me, and where I am today is where you put me. So, coming back home is special and I feel that too for all of us here. We are your children, and we want to continue with your vision, and for the people driving this project, I can assure you that we are going to work with them to make sure this project is realised in flying colours.”

Leave a Reply

Share post:




More like this

Passion 94.5 FM Radio Uyo, Rewarded For Outstanding Broadcasting By Akwa Ibom Radio Callers

Radio Callers’ Association of Nigeria, Akwa Ibom State Branch...

President Tinubu Reaffirms Administration’s Resolve in Achieving Economic Security

President Bola Tinubu has reiterated that individuals considering threats...

APC Petitions National Judicial Council Over Kano Judgement

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has taken legal action...

President Tinubu Directs NYSC, Ministry To Include NOUN Graduates For Service

President Bola Tinubu has directed the Ministry of Education...