Speaker Tajudeen Abbas Swears In 12 New House Of Reps Members


The House of Representatives Speaker, Tajudeen Abbas has sworn in twelve new members representing various Federal Constituencies.

The exercise which occurred on Thursday, February 8, 2024, at the plenary, followed their victories in last Saturday’s parliamentary re-run elections.

Although a total of 15 candidates were victorious at the polls, 12 winners were on the floor of the House for their swearing-in at a session presided over by the Speaker of the House, Mr Abbas Tajudeen.

The inauguration was witnessed by Senator Ifeanyi Ubah, who recently decamped from the Young Progressive Party (YPP) to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) in solidarity with the YPP members.

Four political parties (APC, PDP, YPP, and LP) won the rerun and bye-elections while the elections into Jalingo/Yorro/Sing Federal constituency of Taraba state and Udenu Federal constituency of Enugu state are still outstanding.

Seven are from the All Progressives Congress, five from the Peoples Democratic Party, three from the Young Progressives Party, and one from the Labour Party.

The new lawmakers were accompanied to the National Assembly Complex by family members, friends, and political associates.

Those who collected their certificates of return are Umar Garba (Ngaski/Shanta/Yauri Federal constituency of Kebbi-APC); Ifeoluwa Ehindero (AKoko North East/North West of Ondo-APC); Faud Kayode Laguda (Suru Lere 1 federal constituency of Lagos- APC) and Saleh Gabriel Zock (Kachia/Kangaroo federal constituency of Kaduna -APC).

Others were:  Daniel Asama Ago (Jos North/Bases federal constituency of Plateau-LP); Rabiu Kamba (Arewa/Dandi federal constituency of Kebbi- APC); Emma Ukpong Udo (Ikono/Ini federal constituency of Akwa Ibom YPP); Dr. Emil Inyang (Akamkpa/Biase Federal constituency of Cross River- APC) and Peter Uzokwe (Nnewi North/Nnewi South federal constituency of Anambra YPP).

The rest are Chinwe Nnabuife Orumba North/Orumba South federal constituency of Anambra- YPP); Adamu Yakubu (Birnin Kudu/Buji federal constituency of Jigawa-PDP); Yusuf Umar Yabo (Yabo/Shagari federal constituency of Sokoto-PDP); Husseini Jallo (Igabi Federal. Constituency of Kaduna-PDP); Yusuf Dalhat Tafoki (Faskari/Kankara/Sabuwa of Katsina APC) and Mohammed Buba Jajere (Fune/Fune federal constituency of Yobe-PDP).

The Speaker presented the new lawmakers copies of the House standing rules and the Legislative Agenda. With the new development, APC now have about 188 members to maintain its majority status in the House.

Share post:




More like this

Police Rescue Kidnapped Victim, Neutralize One Suspect in Akwa Ibom

A 63-year-old retired Shell Petroleum Company Worker, abducted and...

Gunmen Kidnap Driver and Police Orderly of Traditional Ruler in Port Harcourt

Gunmen have kidnapped a driver and police orderly working...

Customs Intercepts Illicit Drug Cargo Valued at Millions of Naira in Onne Port

Nigeria Customs Service says contraband drugs worth millions of...

Federal Government Unveils Plans for Solid Minerals Sector to Boost Foreign Reserve

The federal government says the Solid Minerals Sector and...