Osun State Governor, Adeleke Stresses Guidelines for Teacher Retirement


Osun State Governor, Ademola Adeleke has emphasized the enforcement of approved guidelines as a prerequisite for the implementation of the new retirement age, set at 65 years old, and length of service, fixed at 40 years, for teachers in Osun public schools.

A circular issued by the Head of Service, Ayanleye Aina, in Osogbo said all those interested in enjoying the new increased retirement age must comply with the guidelines as stipulated.

According to the guidelines, for teacher to benefit from the scheme, he or she must be within the education cadre recognized in the scheme of service.

It also stipulates that the officer must be registered with the Teacher’s Registration Council of Nigeria (TRCN), be medically fit as ascertained by a qualified medical doctor and must not be under any disciplinary action.

It also said the eligible officer would be required to apply six months before he or she attains the age of 60 years or 35 years of service.

The guidelines further said the application must be endorsed by the Head Teacher or Principal of the eligible officer and addressed to the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education, adding that the period of extension was not pensionable.

It directed the Ministry of Finance and the State Universal Basic Education Board (SUBEB) to stop forthwith, payment of salaries to those already enjoying the new retirement age without fulfilling the conditions.

Leave a Reply

Share post:




More like this

Football Legend Roberto Baggio Assaulted and Robbed at Home During Euro 2024 Match

Italian football icon Roberto Baggio was hospitalized on Thursday...

US Bans Russia’s Kaspersky Antivirus Software

The United States has banned Russia-based cybersecurity firm Kaspersky...

Abia Warriors to Clash with EL-Kanemi Warriors in President Federation Cup Final

Abia Warriors of Umuahia and El-Kanemi Warriors of Maiduguri...

NFF Vows Equal Treatment for Supersand Eagles in Global Arena

President of Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), Alhaji Ibrahim Musa...