#NigeriaDecides2023: Ahmad Lawan wins Yobe North Senatorial District election


The President of the Senate, Ahmed Lawan of the All Progressives Congress (APC), has won the Yobe North Senatorial District election in Yobe.

Announcing the result at Umar Suleiman College of Education Gashua on Monday, the Returning Officer of the zone, Prof. Omolala Aduoju of the Federal University, Gashua, Yobe State said Lawan scored 91,318 votes to defeat his rival of the PDP, Ilu Alhaji-Bello, who got 22,849 votes out of the 122,136 total valid votes cast while the New Nigerian Peoples Party, NNPP, candidate, Garba Umar, scored 7,210 votes.

”Having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest votes, Alhaji Ahmed Lawan of the APC is hereby declared the winner and returned elected,” she said.

Aduoju said the Action Democratic Party, ADP, scored three votes even though the party did not field a candidate in the election.

”The total votes cast in the election is 126,677 out of which 122,136 were valid and 4,541 votes were rejected,” she said.

The district comprises Machina, Nguru, Bade, Karasuwa, Jakusko and Yusufari local government areas.

Ahmad Lawan will be spending 28 years in the National Assembly. He was first elected in the House of Representatives for the constituency of Bade/Jakusko in 1999, and later got elected into the senate in 2007.

Similarly, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila of the All Progressives Congress (APC), has won the Surulere I Federal Constituency election held on Saturday.

Virgy Oneyene, the INEC returning officer for the House of Representatives election in the constituency, declared the results at INEC’s collation centre in Surulere at about 6.04 p.m. on Sunday.

According to her, Gbajabiamila of APC won 19,717 votes, while Jeje of the Peoples Democratic Party came second with 5,121 votes.

The returning officer said Mathew Idowu of the Social Democratic Party had 838 votes; Benedicta Uba of Zenith Labour Party had 660 votes; Ademola Oshinaya of New Nigeria Peoples Party had 623 votes, and Lumumba Savage of Party A 337 votes.

“At the end of voting, Femi Gbajabiamila of APC has satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes and is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected, ” she said.

The Speaker was first elected to the House of Representatives in 2003 to represent Surulere 1 Federal Constituency. Since then, he has won elections in the subsequent five election cycles, including Saturday’s election.

In his 20-year journey in the House of Representatives so far, Gbajabiamila has served as Minority Whip, Minority Leader, Opposition Leader, and Majority Leader before getting elected as Speaker in 2019.

Share post:




More like this

Dana Air Flight Drifts Off Lagos Airport Runway

A Dana Air flight experienced a runaway excursion upon...

Inter Milan Wins This Season’s Italian League Title

Inter Milan has won this season's Italian League title...

Naira Relapses, Drops to N1,234/$ at Official Market

The Naira has declined against the US dollar after...

Four Towers Vandalized Along Jos-Gombe 330KV Transmission Line

Transmission Company of Nigeria has reported that four towers...